Australian Scout Award

The Australian Scout Award is the highest award in the Scout Section. It is considered the pinnacle of Scouting at this stage. To earn the Australian Scout Award a Scout must:

  • Complete Milestone 3 in the Program Essentials;
  • Reach at least Stage 5 in the three core areas of the Outdoor Adventure Skills 
  • Complete 10 Stage progressions in the Outdoor Adventure Skills within the Scout section 
  • Complete 6 Special Interest Area badges in at least 3 different areas
  • Complete a Personal Development or Unit Management Course
  • Plan> and lead an Adventurous Journey of at least 3 days, 2 nights
  • Reflect on their journey through the section and the award



The Victorian Scout Council runs two ceremonies a year to present scouts who have achieved their Australian Scout Award with their medallion. The ceremonies are held twice a year and a list of upcomming ceremonies can be found here.

Scouts who lodge their application form with the state office will automatically be invited to the next ceremony. We will contact recipients approximately 4 weeks prior to the ceremony with details of where the ceremony is being held and the venue. Questions about ceremonies should be sent to 

Badge/Application Form

The Australian Scout Award Badge is not obtainable from the Scout Shop Online. Once the Unit Council has approved the awarding of the Australian Scout Award the Application Form needs to be submitted to the State Office via to have the award sent out.

ASA Application Form

Resources and Guides

What ASA is all About -PDF

The Adventurous Journey guide here on Explorer 

Explorer is maintained by the Scout Council Victoria.
Please send any suggestions for content here.
Visit the Scouts Victoria website for more information on Scouting.